SMTP / Outgoing Mail Server
If you would like to use yourdomain.com for your SMTP/Outgoing mail server, you will need to be aware of the following
We use a method of authentication called "pop auth" to verify that you should be allowed to use the smtp
server. This prevents spammers from sending spam from your smtp server.
To use yourdomain.com as the smtp server please follow these steps:
In Outlook, you will need to check the box that says "My Server Requires Authentication"
If your email client doesn't have this feature, it will be necessary for you to have logged into your pop account
within the previous 15 minutes to be able to send mail from your smtp server. This is commonly called "POP before SMTP". If you receive an error message when
sending mail, try it a second time - you must check for mail first. After checking for mail, you will only be able to send for the following 15 minutes.
If you are able to use your dial up isp's smtp server, we recommend you do so as it will usually send mail faster for
you. The server is usually called mail.isp.com or smtp.isp.com. AOL does NOT provide a smtp server.
1) A user connects to their server to download their email. For this illustration, we will use user 'joe' on server
'myclient.com' with password 'joespassword'. The username/password/server information listed here is totally fictitious and used only for illustration
2) Using his username and password configured in his email software, 'joe' is authenticated by the POP server.
'joe' does not need to have email to be downloaded.
3) As soon as 'joe' is authenticated, his remote IP from which he is connecting is noted by the POP server.
4) joe's remote IP is now logged with the current time to a POPAUTH database. For the next 15 minutes, 'joe' is
able to send email through the server freely.
5) At the end of 15 minutes, joe's IP is removed from the POPAUTH database. 'joe' is no longer authenticated to
send email through the server. 'joe' must now check his email for download in order to re-authenticate himself with the email server in order to send email
again. If 'joe' does not authenticate himself before sending he will receive a 'Relaying Denied' error message